World Foundry Organization(WFO)

The World Foundry Organization (WFO) is an international association created in 1927 with the aim of enhancing technical cooperation among its members. Nowadays, the Organization comprises 34 member countries, including the most technologically developed countries as well as the largest producers and consumers of casting products.

For more information:

Tabira Foundry Institute

The Tabira Foundry Institute is the national representative of the World Foundry Organization (WFO), and its main purpose is the development of foundry technology and the exchange of technical knowledge. Tabira has an exclusive technical approach that is a direct result of responding and attending to the various concerns and requirements generated by growing market demands.  

More information:


IK4-AZTERLAN is a private non-profit Technological Centre specialised in metallurgical research. The main activities of the centre are oriented towards applied research, development and innovation in close cooperation with the metal-mechanical industry and with the Research and Development units of companies.

More information:  



The Spanish Federation of Foundry Associations (FEAF) began operating in 1962 and now represents a total of 162 associated companies. It is composed of iron foundries (80% of production), non-ferrous foundries (12% of production) and steel foundries (8% of production).  

More information:


FUNDIGEX, The Casting Exporters' Association of Spain, is a non-profit organisation founded by a group of foundries in 1985, with the objective of promoting exports and the internationalisation of Spanish companies in the foundry sector. FUNDIGEX is also working to defend the general interest of its more than 50 associates in the international market.

More information: 

Bilbao Chamber of Commerce

The Bilbao Chamber of Commerce is an advisory body which collaborates with public institutions, defending the general interests of businesses. Its main aim is to represent, promote and uphold the general interests of trade, industry and the maritime sector, among others.

More information:

University of the Basque Country/Higher Technical School of Engineering of Bilbao

Founded in 1897, the Faculty of Engineering in Bilbao is part of the University of the Basque Country (UPV/EHU), and as such its mission is to provide higher education and research in the field of engineering. This involves working in close cooperation with the world of business, seeking to meet the changing needs of society through the application of criteria of quality and social responsibility.

More information:    

Mondragon University

Mondragon University was created in 1997 by the association of three educational cooperatives. Its educational offering is based on the Polytechnic School, the Faculty of Business Studies, Faculty of Humanities and Education  and the Culinary Science Faculty. One of its main characteristics is its close collaboration with the working market.  

More information:   


IK4 Research Alliance comprises nine technological centres and is one of the major points of reference. The main objective is to bring resources together and to exchange best practice in order to help technological centres reach greater levels of technological-scientific excellence within the Basque System of Innovation.

More information:


Edertek is a technological centre whose participants are those companies belonging to the Mondragon Corporation which are related to the automotive industry. It is devoted to developing new products, materials and processes as well as the design and innovation of moulding, working closely with clients and completing innovation strategies.

More information:  


Tecnalia Corporation is a technology corporation set up in 2001 with the principal aim of contributing to the development of the economic and social environment. This is achieved by using and promoting technological innovation through the development and dissemination of research in an international context.  

More information:  

Ministry of Industry, Energy and Tourism

The Spanish Ministry of Industry, Energy and Tourism is dedicated to proposing and implementing Government policy in the fields of energy, industry development, tourism, telecommunication and communication.

More information:  

Basque Government

The Basque Government is recognised as the government of the Basque Country and is made up of the Lehendakari - prime minister who is elected by the Basque Parliament every four years - and the members that he or she chooses. Its headquarters are in the Lakua district of Vitoria, alongside the other usual administrative bodies.

More information:  

Biscay Government

The Biscay Government it is the executive body which assumes responsibility for the government and administration of Biscay. At the head of the Biscay Government is the Deputy General. He or she is elected by the General Assembly of Biscay and then selects the different Deputies who are in charge of the various departments of the Government.  

More information:

Bilbao City Council

The Council of Bilbao is the public institution in charge of guaranteeing the interest of the inhabitants of the city. It is formed by an Executive Governing Body and a Municipal Plenary with legislative roles. The former is comprised of the mayor and is known as the Bilbao Government Assembly.  

More information: